--> Many eyed bug thing- the diary of a Neighbours addict many eyed bug thing many eyes buggy eyes green thing buggy eyes many buggy eyed thing

Sunday, October 02, 2005

Korea- once three kingdoms

After the war of 1950-1953 Korea was divided into two countries. Today the north is a closed communist state and the south a capitalist democracy. It's not the first time that this land has been under different governments. Korea was once three separate kingdoms. These were Silla, Baekje and Gogureyo. The three kingdoms period lasted from the first century BCE to the mid-seventh century.

Gogureyo was by far the largest of the kingdoms and covered all of present day North Korea, some of modern China and extended below Seoul. In comparison the southern kingdoms of Silla and Baekje were tiny. You can see where they were on this map. You'll note a smaller confederacy of chiefdoms called Kaya or Gaya. I have not yet been able to find out exactly how long it existed for but you can get an idea of the chronology here. In the coming weeks I'll be blogging more about Korean history.


Post a Comment

<< Home